Better With Popcorn

NHL Schedule 2012: Philadelphia Flyers Open 2012-13 Season At Home Against Boston

On Thursday morning, the NHL officially announced the tentative schedule for the 2012-13 season.

The Philadelphia Flyers will open the 2012-13 season on Thursday, Oct. 11 as they host the Boston Bruins in Philadelphia as part of an opening night double-header on NBC Sports Network.

It will be the first official game of the year.

Philadelphia’s next game will come on Saturday, Oct. 13 when they travel to New York to take on the Islanders prior to returning to Philadelphia the following Thursday (Oct. 18) to play the Pittsburgh Penguins for the first time since eliminating their cross-state rivals in Game 6 of the Eastern Conference Quarterfinal.

The Flyers will play three more home games in the opening month of the year hosting opponents such as the Winnipeg Jets (Saturday, Oct. 20), Toronto Maple Leafs (Saturday, Oct. 27) and Dallas Stars (Thursday, Oct. 30).

On November 1, the Flyers will play the New Jersey Devils for the first meeting since being eliminated by the eventual conference champions in the Quarterfinal last year.

The Flyers will travel to New York three times in November to face the Islanders (Thursday, Nov. 29) and the New York Rangers twice at Madison Square Garden (Sunday, Nov. 4 and Saturday, Nov. 24).

Philadelphia will host their first extended home stand in November when they play three-straight at Wells Fargo Center against the Buffalo Sabres (Saturday, Nov. 17), Ottawa Senators (Wednesday, Nov. 21) and Winnipeg Jets (Friday, Nov. 23).

The team’s first extended road trip will come at the end of November and will carry over into December when the Flyers play five-straight on the road.

In December the Flyers will play a home-and-home series with the Devils (Wednesday, Dec. 19 and Friday, Dec. 21).

February will be a streaky month for the team; they will play two separate four-game home stands separated by a five-game road trip, which will see them travel to Pittsburgh for two games as well as to the Garden to face the Rangers.

The Flyers will close out the 2012-13 season with a three game home stand, which will see the team play the Penguins (Tuesday, April 9), Ottawa Senators (Thursday, April 11) and close out the season against the Rangers (Saturday, April 13).

Of course, this is all tentative upon a new collective bargaining agreement being reached prior to September 15.

For the Flyers complete 2012-13 schedule, click here.

 

--

Follow me on Twitter (@mattbrigidi) and make sure to "like" The Checking Line-Flyers Edition on Facebook to stay up to the minute with all the latest team news and notes.

Feel free to shoot me an email: mattbrigidi@thecheckingline.com