Better With Popcorn

Flyers fall short to Lightning; Sign D Colaiacovo

The bad luck continues in Tampa for the the Flyers.

Philadelphia came up just short in its quest to snap a long losing streak at the Tampa Bay Times Forum. The Lightning held off the Flyers in the third to win 4-3, extending their seven-game home winning streak against the Flyers.

Steven Stamkos was as dangerous as he's ever been, scoring two goals and adding an assist. Valtteri Filppula picked up three assists for the Lightning.

Suck It Phaneuf

Flyers riding win streak into Tampa

The Flyers are winner of three straight and four of the last five. None of this matters, though, with their recent struggles in Tampa.

The Flyers begin a short Florida road trip tonight as they take on one of the east's top offenses in the Lightning. That task won't be any easier as they look to end a six-game (0-5-1) skid in Tampa.

Weekly Flyers Preview: Oct. 27-Nov. 2

The Flyers look to build off of a successful road trip against some quality opponents this week.

They won back-to-back road games, beating Pittsburgh 5-3 on Wednesday before surving a 4-2 win against Detroit on Saturday.

The Flyers (3-3-2) have a real chance at finishing October with a .500 record. They still have two more 2013-14 playoff teams left on the schedule, but they could very well survive a month in which nine of their 10 opponents were playoff teams last season.

Flyers recall D Shayne Gostisbehere

Flyers general manager Ron Hextall doesn't want to be patient afterall.

The Flyers announced today they have recalled defenseman Shayne Gostisbehere from the Lehigh Valley Phantoms. Gostisbehere was scratched from tonight's Phantoms game against the Hershey Bears.

Flyers defensemen Coburn, MacDonald out four weeks

The Flyers took a huge blow to their already weak blue line.

Veteran defensemen Braydon Coburn and Andrew MacDonald are expected to miss four weeks each due to injury.

The Flyers, who have seven defensemen on their roster prior to the injuries, will need to call one up. Mark Alt is expected to be that player called up.

The Gordie: Umberger gets goal, assist, fight in win over rival Penguins

R.J. Umberger has arrived.

After being seemingly invisible through the first six games, R.J. Umberger made his presence felt in his home town. The Pittsburgh, Penn. native scored a goal, registered an assist and dropped the gloves in Philadelphia's 5-3 win over the Pittsburgh Penguins on Wednesday.

That is a Gordie Howe hat trick, and it provided a much-needed boost to a Flyers team that was just 24 hours removed from an embarrassing 4-0 loss to the Blackhawks on Tuesday.

Hawks shut out the Philadelphia Flyers 4-0

The Blackhawks came into this game on a mission to get second scoring chances and to crash the net and they most certainly did.  

Chicago beat the Philadelphia Flyers 4-0 on Tuesday in what might have been the most complete game the Hawks played this season. It was a solid team victory.

The Hawks also went with different lines than they had in the past and again Joel Quenneville demonstrated his knack of having his pulse on this team and knowing how to get the best from his players and utilizing their strenghths to spark his team. 

The game also saw the return of Kris Versteeg to the line-up. Versteeg however was not on the third line but was opposite his old b...

Weekly Flyers Preview: Oct. 20-Oct. 26

The Flyers look to build off of Saturday’s win in Dallas. It will be tough as their rough October continues with some of the NHL's top teams. This week's opponents are three of the last five Stanley Cup champions.

Flyers avoid shootout in comeback win in Dallas

The Flyers were sick of losing in the shootout.

After the last two overtime losses for the Flyers left them with frustrations in the skills competition, they were looking at a potential third straight shootout. But Claude Giroux scored 2 minutes, 49 seconds into overtime, completing a comeback 6-5 win.

It was the first win of the season for the Flyers. They avoided going winless in the first five games of the season for just the third time in franchise history with the win.

Flyers' awkward season is a transition season

Let's face it... Flyers fans are in for an awkward season.

There is no way around describing what this 2014-15 Philadelphia Flyers team is. You can say they're a team in transition.

The word transition is not something that owners like to use or that fans like to hear. But it truly is the perfect way to explain this Flyers team.

It is not shocking at all either that the Flyers would end up this way. Ron Hextall was promoted to general just this spring, so he himself is still trying to make the team his own. He was left tied up with a few mistakes made by previous GM Paul Holmgren, and has been unable to reverse moves that were made prior to his promotion.